RSS

Saturday

26 Jun

I had a really cool Saturday this weekend. Nothing much happened except the fact that I took my adopted nephew to see Disney’s "Cars" as well as going to a Violin Recital Called" Strings with Song" at Queens Hall later that night. At the end of it all I wasn’t at all tired just a bit hungry. Why??? Well let me explain.
 
Dillon, my adopted nephew had been bugging me for weeks to take him to see "Cars". My rants about being tired and too busy were ignored and it culminated in me going to the 1:30pm showing of it at Cinema’s 8 (Not my favorite cinema but it will do). We arrived there at 1pm and i got the tickets while he (Dillon) kept darting into a nearby Video arcade called "Galactica". He kept saying saying that after the movie we would be going to the arcade to play some games. My response: "No, Uncle Stefan has to go out for 5pm this afternoon so that is not possible."  He sighed and said that we will make time. I ignored the comment.
 
Now being a nice person I made sure that I treated Dillon with whatever snacks he wanted so that he would forget about the arcade after the movie. He had only asked for a small Popcorn and a drink when we were in the concession line but as we got closer he said to me, "Guess what I haven’t had in a long time?".  With this he points to the candy display directly in front of us. I know that he is no big fan of chocolate so i say, "Skittles". He beams and says "Wow, how did you guess that on your first try?". I reply, "I can read your mind." (BIG Mistake.)  With that thought planted in his head, he then proceeds to ask me every ten seconds what he is thinking now. I ignore once again.
 
In the end, I got him the Skittles, a small bag of Popcorn and a small 7up. For me??? Well a Hot and a Large Cine Combo (large popcorn and large soft drink – Peardrax). NOTE: Leave me alone, I was hungry. 
 
We settle in for the movie and he complains for a little while that there are too many commercials before the movie. That I can agree with and we also have a short conversation (five minutes long) on why I can’t read his mind and why only his mommy can, but even she gets it wrong sometimes. Bless his heart. The boy however devours most of my hot dog as well as a good portion of my popcorn as he finished his during the commercials.(This boy obviously has a tape worm)
 
When the movie starts , all is well, he is eating and drinking and laughing at the screen. I , on the other hand, can’t seem to hear much with some guy talking on his cell phone behind me who assumes he is whispering. (Friends have told me for years that I cannot  whisper, guess his friends failed him in this regard.)
 
Anyway, 75% of the movie has passed and all of a sudden Dillon annouces that he needs to use the bathroom. (No problem, I predicted this. After all the stuff he devoured, this  I expect). We head to the bathroom and all he does is urinate and we wash his hands and then he races me back to the theatre. All is well. We settle in for the rest of the show as now i am hooked as to the ending of this movie (Not Pixar’s best but cool anyway). Less than five minutes later, I notice that he is really fidgety but I decide to ignore it. He turns to me a second later and says in a very soft voice, "Uncle Stefan, I need to tootoo". My initial reaction was not that of a good parent. "What?? You just went to the bathroom!!  He says softly" I know, but i can’t hold it anymore". "FINE!!!"  So  we get up to a brigade of sighs from the people in our row (we are in the corner-he chose the spot).
 
We get to the toilet and the boy seems to be in slow motion now. He goes in the cubicle and I hold the door from outside. He then starts up a conversation with me." I can see your fingers". I can see your face " "Ha Ha" Can You see Me".  Sigh.  Now anyone that knows me, knows that I don’t speak when I am in toilets. No conversations can be had during serious business.  Well he did not know and so i humored him. I reached my limit when a gentleman went into the stall next to him and he wanted to know who was that in the next stall. I calmly (lie) told him to hurry up ’cause we were missing the movie. All of a sudden he remembered the movie and I heard toilet paper rolling out for someone with serious bowel movements.  He exits the stall  and tries to elave without washing his hands. He gets an "Ay" from me and he detours straight to the sink.
 
Alas we get back in time for the end of the movie  and he then says that it was boring. He leaves me while we walk out so he can rush to the arcade. He returns sheepishly when he realises that he still had no money for the games. A woman then comments that i have my son well trained. I thank her and move along just in case she is looking for a husband (you can never be too careful). We play video games until 4:45pm and I rush home to get ready to meet Nisha to go to the recital which starts at 7pm but she wants to meet for dinner at around 6pm. I had to buy KFC for him to keep the pouting at bay.
 
Seeing that I live Arima and a drive to town takes 30 minutes (at my speed, 45 minutes if one adhered to the speed limit), I arrive in perfect time to go for dinner. I am starving. I get to her house, we chat for a while and then we leave and she suggests tha we have Gyros since the recital starts at 7pm and we don’t want to be late. Being the gentleman i am I only order one chicken gyro so as not to look like the pig I really am. That gyro went down so fast and proved to make me even hungrier but I was a good boy. I sucked on the ice from my drink and made do.
 
The Recital was amazing. Something I thought would be boring turned out to really enrich my soul and feed the need to perform again. Of course, in the face of these professionals, i felt like someone who did skits for the church concert. Anyway, the violinist, Oliver Lewis was phenomenal and his rendition of "Flight of the Bumblebee" was superb. Natalia Dopwell was the soprano that he sometimes dueted with during the night and she had a stellar voice. The one song that caught my attention was a song from Schubert’s Opera "Faust". The song is called Gretchen am Spinnrade (Gretchen and the Spinning Wheel". The chorus of the song caught me offguard. It was in German and the translation sort of slayed me.
 
Meine Ruh ist stille. (My peace is gone)
Meine Herz is schwer. (My heart is heavy)
Ich finde sie nimmer. (I can never find it)
Und nimmermehr. (and nevermore)
 
 Of course the song is about Gretchen’s longing for Faust after he took her virginity but that is not why it moved me. The words just spoke to me. So unlike the last artistic thing I did which freaked the hell out of me. You know "Don’t mess with the cow…". 
 
Anyway, the night ended with me driving to Church’s Chicken and ordering a three peice chicken dinner and devouring it on my way home.  After that day, I vowed to try and feed my soul in some artistic way. Whether it be me trying to write a song or two or actually finding a Guitar teacher to finally learn how to play an instrument. No longer will I sit idly by and let the world go pass me.
 
I slept all day Sunday.
 
4 Comments

Posted by on June 26, 2006 in Uncategorized

 

4 responses to “Saturday

  1. Matthew

    June 26, 2006 at 17:19

    where did the previous blog entry go?

     
  2. Michael

    June 26, 2006 at 17:33

    So you have a son?  Bravo Stefan.  lol.  Sweet of you to indulge the lad.  I\’m sure he\’ll be ranting and wanting to spend more time with Uncle Stefan. 
     
    I look forward to your first guitar recital; even if just in private for us select few.

     
  3. Stefan

    June 27, 2006 at 12:52

    I have no idea where it went to? I tried to open it yesterday and got nothing.

     
  4. Christiane

    August 4, 2006 at 06:56

    Hey, glad you enjoyed the show!   If you\’d like to know more about Oliver Lewis (the violinist), Natalia Dopwell (soprano) or Jeffrey Middleton (the pianist) from \’Strings with Song\’ you can check out the links I\’ve included.Always great to get positive feedback!

     

Leave a Reply

 
