RSS

Shake Your Thang

02 Oct

Well Friday was a particularly interesting day in Trinidad & Tobago. More so for Trinidad as we experienced a serious earthquake (well in our minds) that caused structural damage to some buildings and mainly to the elevators within them. This experience left me a little traumatized as I was on the top floor of the RBTT Independence Square Branch and that thing shook the black off me for the ten seconds or more it occurred.

 

The strange thing is that I was in a fellow co-worker’s office going over some figures with my laptop in hand when the earthquake started up. The building started to shake and his desk (a very heavy one) started to move. The building seems to be swaying and everything just seemed to be on the verge of cracking (well just in my eyes). On feeling the strong vibrations I ran to the doorway to stand and I was quickly followed by my co-worker and then by another one who happened to be passing in the hallway. In the midst of the shake I commented to the last arrival to the doorway:

 

Me: Hear nah, three hard back men cannot be sheltering under one doorway. Find another doorway to stand under please.

 

Of course he ignored me and only moved when the tremors stopped.

 

I must confess, I think I weed a bit during the tremors and I know for sure I called out for my mother ever so quietly and briefly. I know no one heard but it was still a traumatic experience for me.

 

Would you believe that after the quake, all the bank I work for, sought to do was send out an email informing us of “Procedures in the Event of An earthquake”. Can you believe that? No one called to inquire to as to emotional stability etc. I was in a mess and found it a bit hard to concentrate after that. In order to calm my nerves, I headed out of the bank and to see if I could find a CD to purchase. Alas none were found. A few DVDs tempted me but since I want to go to Margarita for the Chinese Holiday weekend, I opted not to spend money on it.

 

I decline to offer up where I was when the second tremor occurred. Needless to say, I never returned to the office and had to come in the next morning to close up my office. The next tremor shook me worse than the first and all I kept thinking is that if I was in the office I would have had to run in town to buy a change of underwear. Rumor has it that the Deputy MD told his Assistant that he needs to keep spare underwear in his office form now on.

 

Stories are still flying around as to what other people did during these tremors but all I know is that if I wasn’t one with a good heart or mind, I would have been on the other end of a bottle of tequila or vodka by the end of that day. I have watched too many movies and TV shows not to panic a bit on experiencing an earthquake, particularly at such a height off the ground. I am not willing to endure it again.

 

I am sitting in the office right now hoping not to feel a tremor. I already had to climb 16 flights of stairs to my office this morning as the elevators aren’t working. If it is not fixed by the lunch time, bet your bottom dollar that KFC will have to deliver food to my ass way up here. If I am forced to walk down those stairs for lunch, I will definitely be working from home for the rest of the day.

 

I had a good weekend though. Got assaulted from my friend Cindy at her birthday party on Saturday, all because she says that I broke off some lime with her to go out with another woman and wrote it on my blog. Cindy, I want proof of such an act. Proof!!!

 

Anyway, all is well and I am thinking of going to Margarita from October 12 to 15 with some friends. I also think that I am spending too much money but that is another issue to sort out later on.

 

Have a good week everyone in case you don’t hear from me again.

 
 
2 Comments

Posted by on October 2, 2006 in Emotions, Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , ,

2 responses to “Shake Your Thang

  1. Matthew

    October 2, 2006 at 11:49

    shook the black off of you….damn that is a priceless line….i can see you also barking at those poor scared people trying to come under the doorway with you (sheltering under a doorway at 16 feet up…???…surely you only do that when you are on ground level)

     
  2. Michelle

    November 3, 2006 at 18:03

    Stefan,
     
    Boy they lie….i know you from Citibank (remember that place?????) and i know you ain\’t got no damn LISP…..a gap in yah front tooth like me…..but no damn LISP.   We worked in the Corporate Bank together ….  Guess who ? (one of the Admin. Assistants – Definitely not Eastlyn Fraser….don\’t even make the mistake).  You used to make me laugh all the time……..
     
    You ent change one bit….not easy.   Later and have a wonderful Xmas wherever you are. 
    MDS

     

Leave a Reply

 
