RSS

This Christmas

24 Dec

I am not the biggest fan of Christmas. This is primarily because my track record for receiving moderately nice or thoughtful gifts have been like my grandmother’s teeth – few and very far between.

 

From the age of about 15 or so, Christmas became a chore. I would work to get the people in my life some measure of special presents within the limited income at the time and they……well, i would either receive nothing or get something from a 99cents store. 

 

I know all you Christmas lovers will be “hating” on me and write back and say it is about the spirit of "giving and not receiving". STEUPS!!!! What a load of bunk!!! This is normally said by either rich people or people who have just given other people really good gifts.

 

Over the years, it has not gotten any better. I now earn a decent income but with no bonus system in December for me, i have to budget very carefully to ensure I can live afterwards. The result…I get more jerseys from Detour than I care to count. Huh? Did Francis Fashions not even have a Christmas sale? Why must the t-shirt u give me have so many colours that even a color blind dog yelps at the sight of it? If I hear one more person laments that I am “hard to shop for” ,then DON’T get me an ugly t-shirt to make up for it.

 

Along with the bad gifts came a slew of chores: Painting of walls and rooms, cleaning the house all over, hanging up of curtains and decorations that I will have to take down in January. I never knew and still don’t know why these things were done around this time. I refuse to do them now.

 

Sigh i just try not to do Christmas or rather I try not expect too much out of it. One is always setting oneself up for Disappointment. I try you know. I really try not to get caught up in the hype. Then they start to play the music and then the movies…and all my efforts go to pot!!!

 

Here are some of my Christmas weaknesses:

 

1.       All I want for Christmas – Mariah Carey

This song makes me too happy and joyful that even during the year I play it sometimes. Curse it!!!

 

2.       Christmas Movies –

An instrument for the destruction of a cold heart. I run from these things on TV.  If little Tommy’s mom or dad can’t make it home for Christmas one more time I am going to scream.  Where is my Christmas miracle? Where is Santa to leave me what I want? The Nikon DSLR I want is not going to appear like that, is it? Bogus.  These stupid movies melt my interior and make me hug my family or call someone just to talk about happy things…

 

3.       Love Actually – The Movie and Soundtrack

This movie really rocks. I was in Hamburg when I first saw it.  I would never consciously go to a Xmas movie but it was a Sneak Preview at the Grindel. I left that movie wanting to have a Christmas like that and falling in love again with the song above.  I was blinking too much during the movie. No I didn’t cry…but Jeez when the guy went to Portugal to get the girl…….well something got in my eye and I had to blink a lot to try and get it out.

 

4.       Christmas parties

An obvious tool of the devil t make me care about my fellow human beings and cause me to want to partake in hugging and kissing festivities. If one more person wishes me Merry Christmas….well I’ll…..just say it back to them.

 

5.       Children

While I may be a cynic, how can one not love Christmas when children are running about happy looking for presents and just filled with so much joy over the event.

Excuse me……..

Ok I just threw up over that statement….hold…..be right back…

 

6.       FOOD

Sorrel, Peardrax, Pastelles, Black Cake, Ham Turkey, Sorrel,Stuffing, marshmallows, grapes, souse, Shepherd’s pie, Macaroni Pie,Sorrell, biscuits, Sweat Bread, Sorrell, Banana Bread, sorrell….slurp slurp….excuse me…..

Yes I can get most of these things all year round but their combination at this time makes one sentimental and caring….

 

 

So gentle folks, in this season of “Goodwill to all” , I prefer if everyone leaves me to my own devices so that I don’t get my hopes up for any kind of present that will turn out to be a dud.

 

The sad thing is that you always get the worst presents from the people that you value the most. So much for surrounding yourself with good people. Ah well these are the breaks…..

 

So before I go and buy the two Rotisserie Chickens that I am technically supposed to be baking for Christmas lunch this year ( do you believe my family is coming by me for Christmas lunch? Who say…Crix?), let me just wish everyone a Merry Christmas and a peaceful and prosperous 2008.

 

Hope you survive the season.

 

Mrs. Blackman I miss you.

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on December 24, 2007 in Uncategorized

 

Leave a Reply

 
