RSS

Feel Good Time

21 Jan

This weekend I opted not to go to any carnival fetes nor did I attend a gathering I was supposed to. The former was primarily because I am just not feeling carnival this year at all (probably getting too old), the latter, well I thought that if I attended that one I may have assault charges brought against me so I stayed home.  Well not really home but I went over to a friend’s apartment and along with his flat-mate, Cherane, and Khamal, we played Monopoly.

 

Now I haven’t played this game in ages and I am a very sore loser when things aren’t going my way. Plus a few months ago I saw them play the game with a group and (1) they slaughtered everyone  and (2) they are just evil when in the midst of the game.  This time around I thought I would give it a try since I wasn’t doing anything else.

 

Monopoly is just one of those board games where you fight for the smallest of things. For example, I wanted to be the horse so I had to “rock, paper, scissors” someone to use it. My only logical argument was that “I always play with the horse”. It is either that or the car. Why would u want to play with the thimble, boat or hat?

 

Anyway, my main beef with their method of game play has to do with the rules. I don’t know if it happens in other countries but in Trinidad people has forgotten the basic rules of Monopoly and started along the way making things up. I put it down to the fact that whenever the game first arrived in Trinidad (how ever long ago that is), one person read the rules, understood it on a basic level and started to pass it down to everyone that played. In the process, you get rules such as the following:

 

1.      If your die roll reveals double digits you can buy property before rolling again. (HUH!!!! If it is double digits you roll until it is no longer double digits. Where you land after that, then you can purchase)

2.      If you roll three sets of double digits, you go to jail. (actually I have no problem with this one)

3.      You cannot buy property in the first round of the game. (WHY???? )

4.      You are not obliged to pay someone rent if the die has been rolled by another person. (WHAT????? )

5.      You cannot purchase houses or conduct any sale until it is your turn to place (and that is before u roll the die). While it brings a semblance of order, I find it infuriating to have to wait that long if I want to put houses on my property based upon someone just paying me rent. LOL

6.      No rental income or housing purchases can be done while in jail. (Uhmm yuh mad? Martha Stewart was able to run her business while in jail. Why can’t I?)

 

Those are just a few that tick me off.

 

The game was underway and both Cherane and Reagan were buying up property like crazy. I wasn’t faring so well. My die throws were either on Chance/Community Chest or just on property they had already purchased. It wasn’t going good for me at all. At the end of three turns on the board, Cherane and Reagan had almost total control. I owned Oriental Avenue, St. James Place, Indiana Avenue and Pacific Avenue. All railroads and Utilities were gone. The remaining properties were Boardwalk, Park Place and Marvin Gardens.

 

Things were looking gloomy for me as Cherane and Reagan were laughing uncontrollably at the other two players who hardly held any properties. I took comfort in the fact that the four ones I had were nice bargaining chips for anyone wanting to control  a piece of the board. Then it happened…..God smiled on me. I  bought Park Place in one turn and then landed on Chance a 15 minutes later only to be told to “Advance Token to Boardwalk”.  From then on, the game changed.

 

With my acquisition of these high worth properties, Reagan and Cherane went into overdrive with the “wheeling and dealing”. Offers were made for my other lesser known properties and most of the offers were rejected. You see, those two had in the long run had no one colour all to themselves and therefore their rental sums were reduced to $2- $22 depending on the location. With my acquisition of Boardwalk and Park Place, my rent doubled without me even putting a house on any of them.

 

Then fortune struck further, Khamal, the other player had both North Carolina and Pennsylvania Avenues and was in a financial bind. He did not have enough money to pay rent on a Hotel on States Avenue. So we struck a deal. I agreed to the following:

 

I would give him the money in exchange for:

  • Partnership in owning his two other green coded properties ( I had one of my own).
  • Rental on all three would be shared.
  • Immunity for four landings on Boardwalk and Park Place.

 

Wasn’t that fair? I think so. Khamal was getting flustered before as Reagan kept shouting that he wants his money. Cherane on the other hand was offering him two railroads and New York Avenue for his Marvin Gardens and Ventnor Avenue. Now any reasonable person knows that is a bad deal but the killer mode Cherane was in, you saw a loan shark. You saw someone who would sell their mother in a heartbeat and buy her back at a discount. No kidding. Cherane is vicious at this game. She however does it with a smile that makes you believe that she is being sincere. Pure evil she is.

 

Khamal took my deal and we were off. I started by putting up houses on that final stretch of the board. Should Reagan or Cherane land on any property there, we would be in the money. As luck would have it, Reagan landed on Park Place with two houses and he had to mortgage some of his properties to pay me. Muhahahahahahahahahaha.  The slum lord was a bit strapped for cash for some reason. Hmmm I wonder why.

 

I was becoming filthy rich and the bank was only asking me to change my cash to $500 bills now. LOL!  Khamal came up short again owing to landing on two hotel (one on Connecticut Avenue and the other on St. Charles Place.  I just told him that I would pay for it once he gave up his immunity on Boardwalk and I got all the rent from the next person who landed on the green coloured properties. Cherane was that person. $900 was all mine. MUUUHAHHAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA

 

Cherane got away for a few rounds after that but then she landed on Pacific Avenue with Three houses and DAMN!! She was still able to pay without blinking an eye. The game came to an end when Reagan landed on Park Place again with three houses and a total rent of $1400 in rent. He just handed all his money and properties over me.  Cherane seeing my level of control opted not to continue on and Khamal was just happy that the game was over.

I felt really good. I normally suck at these games and Monopoly is one of them. I am normally the one that lands on “Chance” and “Community Chest” and pulls the card that requires him to “Pay each player $50” or “Pay Poor Tax” or gets taxed on houses. I am just not that lucky. This game of chance came out in my favour this time. I don’t think I will chance it at another time….

 

How was your  weekend?

 
1 Comment

Posted by on January 21, 2008 in Uncategorized

 

One response to “Feel Good Time

  1. Shannon

    January 27, 2008 at 02:54

    I hope you didn\’t get too excited recieving a notice of reply only to find it\’s just me lol. We HAVE to play Monopoly LOL…

     

Leave a Reply

 
