RSS

Never Again

21 Jul

You all know how I’m into being “one “with the people, right? Yeah I’m all for equal opportunity and for hanging out with anyone……..Yeah ummm that sounds like me.

 

Well on Saturday night, I did such a thing. I went to a party called RAW (Ready & Willing) in Santa Cruz with an acquaintance of mine that well let’s just say I normally don’t hang out with.  He has been bothering me for awhile to hang out with him and his “crew” and he says that they are “down to earth and real cool”.

 

His first attempt at getting to me to go out with him and his friends saw us visiting Zen (the nightclub) on the night before a holiday and he made a point of saying that we have to stop at Cro Bar and one other bar before heading to the club as they have to get a “buzz” before venturing into Zen. At the time I kept my comments to myself and just said: “Stefan , why you so stuck up? This is how people have fun. Loosen up!!!” Well I left them when they got to Zen citing stomach issues from a roti I had earlier and the fact that I can’t go in public toilets. In reality, I had no intention of hanging out in the “general area” of Zen with people that both drank and smoked a lot.

 

So this time since he said the party was in a plaza in Santa Cruz, I knew it would be open air and therefore not as bad as being in a confined space.  Plus we were picking up two girls this time before heading there.

 

Oh ok..I guess I could give it a try.,…

 

Yes we picked up two girls and one was in a tight fitting dress that well..sigh…left one wondering how was she breathing normally. She looked really good. She looked good to eat. The catch is, we had to pick up some guy in Belmont who they all worked with and who requested as soon as he got in that I carry him to Frederick Street so he could purchase a shirt for the tonight’s party. Mind you, the time when we picked him up was 12:30am Sunday morning.  We got his shirt in town and were on our way to the party.

 

When we got there, I surveyed the crowd outside of the party and found them to be lacking something. Anyone who knows me, knows what I was thinking at that point. I went into my version of “bad boy” mode. My version involves putting on a serious face, moving my head slowly and if spoken to, I would only utter three word phrases. No complete sentences are allowed as they give you away. My signature phrases for the night were:

 

Wuz de scene” – Translated  What is the scene or How are you doing?

Respek” – Translated: “Respect” or simply “I understand your viewpoint”

Yeah Man”: – Translated: “Hello” or “I acknowledge your presence”

 

Now my translations may not be spot on but they interchange so much in this environment that the use of any combination will be understood by the subjects.

 

On arrival, the girls disappear into the party, my friend is getting people to put up to buy a bottle of Grey Goose Vodka for his crew to drink for the night. Grey Goose? HUH?

SIDENOTE: Apparently, in fetes/parties where drinks are not free on entry, the common practice is to pool your money and purchase of bottle of liquor along with soda or juice and some ice and have everyone drink from it for the rest of the night. Who knew?

 

I opted not to contribute to the bottle as I was driving and therefore had no plans to drink anything other than juice or Shandy Carib. This was not seen in a positive light but I was given the line “Respek” by two of them so I still felt in the mix.

 

Well they ended up buy a bottle of Absolut and made do with that plus  some cans of Red Bull.I took one drink from them and nursed it for at least an hour until I walked to the bar and just left it there. Vodka with a hint of Red Bull is just not my kind of drink.

 

Overall, the party wasn’t a bad one. The music was highly entertaining, even though I was unaware of most of the tracks being played. Some I remembered or had heard of due to my brief moments of tuning into 106 and Park on BET and 96.1FM or 96.7FM.  The girls made me feel really welcome but the one in the tight dress was playing hard to get and she was only walking the party as if she was on display.  I was intrigued by her. She seemed to be able to construct full sentences with minimal use of green verbs. In other words , she spoke well. I said that I would at least dance with her once for the night and well who knows.  Then it happened, she pulled out a cigarette and never stopped smoking until the entire pack was done. Any sexiness that was left in her died after the third cigarette was lit. Oh well…….I bet those grapes were sour anyway….

 

As the night goes along, the crowd is not big but they are having a good time. I decide after seeing some of the dance moves going on to go get my camera and take some pictures. And I do, I start snapping away and then I realize that some people are looking at my camera and not at the lens for the photo.  I then observed that two guys keep circling me ever so often and looking at the camera. Hmmm, I immediately shut it off, and kept it to my side against a wall for like five minutes. When I noticed the passed by and looked to see if I still had it, I knew I needed to get my camera out of there. I did it so fast that I swore I was moving at light speed to my car. I however made sure that I wasn’t followed and that the guys that were canvassing me were on the other end of the party when I left.

 

I’m happy to report that my Panasonic Lumix digital camera is safe at home.

 

Anyway, by 4am, my bed was calling but these people were not ready to leave at all. So I did what I normally do in situations like these. I go to my car and sleep until the rest are ready to go. Ummm how does one fall asleep in an area where you are really not comfortable. Well you put the car on and don’t put on the air-conditioner. One has to stay alert just in case.

 

At 4:45am my bladder told me it was time to get up. I went back into the party to use their facilities (I was not about to pee on someone’s wall and risk getting shot at).  On completion of my task I proceeded to walk out of the party again. This time I detected that the mood in the event had changed. It seemed tense in some manner but I just couldn’t put my finger on it.

 

I get back to the car only to hear the tight dressed one shouting to another girl:

 

Tight Dress: Ah not taking dat disrespek from no one. How he go come and touch my ass and tell he partner she ready for it. Nah I will F*@#$&*G cut him up.

 

Hmmm ok something is happening. I just get back into my car.

 

Then some guy in a green shirt comes up to me and tells me:

 

Green Shirt: Fadda doh study dem. We up here real mellow. Dem on sh*t.

 

On that note I decide to get off the ledge that I had parked my car and face it in the direction to leave the party.

 

As I do that, my friend comes to the car with the two girls and push them into the back seat and tell them to “Keep yuh ass here!!!!”  The tight dress one is still cussing up a storm and I keep apologizing to my car as it is not accustomed to this type of language being used. He then comes back, takes something from my front passenger seat door pocket and heads back into the crowd.

 

Not too long after, he and three other guys come running to the car trying to fit in it. I say to them that my car seats four but that fell on deaf ears. Then I was told to drive. So I did.

 

When I started to drive off, tight dress told me that I need to stop and go back for Melissa and Shanna. She not leaving them behind. I was about to respond when my friend told her that he didn’t bring them here so they have to find their way home. Plus his driver is not going back for them

 

Excuse me? Did he just say what I think he said? His Driver? Oh hell no…….(I said nothing. I held my tongue. It will all be over soon). Even when she started smoking in my car, I held my tongue as it would all be over soon.

 

I dropped the guys into town and the girls where they lived in Diego Martin. As soon as I drove off from dropping the last girl, my acquaintance turns to me and apologizes profusely for the events of this morning. He had that he never thought the party would take a turn like but he likes that I didn’t panic and that I kept my cool. H

 

“Yuh real cool under pressure boy. I like that. We could lime any day of the week”

 

Me: Where should your driver take you now?

Him: Nah I aint wukking today..Leh me sleep by you and we go go beach around 12 or so.

Me: Excuse me? Beach? Boy yuh mad or what?

Him: Small ting. Ah go call a next set a girls to go beach wid we.

Me: Umm I dropping you home. Try and lose my number nah.

Him: Yuh vex bout tonight? Ok Ah go let yuh sleep. We go do beach next weekend.

 

Sigh…….

I got home alone at 6:30am and slept until 12:30pm.  Ate something ,then slept again.

 
1 Comment

Posted by on July 21, 2008 in Uncategorized

 

One response to “Never Again

  1. Matthew

    July 24, 2008 at 08:29

    when you sleep with dogs…invariably you will get fleas….fraud!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
