RSS

Somebody’s Watching Me

18 Dec

I think I have a stalker. Well not really a stalker but a stranger who seems to know how to find me and wants to get to know me better.   I am not 100% sure but based on events that transpired between Friday night and Monday morning, I think I need to be very aware of my surroundings going forward.

 

On Friday night I got an email from someone with the initials KMB with just the following message:

 

KMB: You cold or what?

 

My Response: Who dis?

(Yes my response is a bit abrupt but I do not like unknown ppl messaging me out of the blue)

 

The individual responded the next day:

 

KMB: You from Arima right?

 

(Well this upset me because once again they are failing to answer my question)

 

ME: Who dis? Please identify where I know you from?

 

(Not the best English but I am sure the individual is not bright enough to correct it)

 

The response saw a telephone number being passed on as well as an email address

 

(I didn’t respond to that message. All I am thinking is that this person must be mad)

 

Then I got this message:

KMB      Okay perhaps i should b honest and just admit that i found u 2 b quiet attractive and decided to write.  I am sorry if i offended. U don’t have to confirm my invitation as a friend nor do u have to reply if u don’t want 2.  It’s just that i am shy when it comes to conversations of this nature and too and i am extremely discrete and overly protective. Once again sorry.

 

(This sent me into a mild tailspin as I am trying to figure out why someone whom OBVIOUSLY I don’t know is trying to speak to me and revealing all this stuff. And what was with telling me that they are discrete? Do they thinkI’m inot s&M or something?)

 

I responded.

ME:       Sorry but I only add ppl on FB that I actually know or have at least spoken with on more     than one occasion.

 

KMB:    We’ll i can b open for meeting if only u would allow me too. I ent no weirdo…I happened to review your contacts on facebook and found that u looked like a cool person. I think though            that i may have seen your face may be at the Bank.

 

(The last word had me leaping off my chair. Bank? Bank? Who works in a Bank? This person is obviously being fed information from someone at some point in time. My blood starts to boil as I want to know what the hell is going on here. Reviewing my contacts? We have no friends in common how is this possible?)

 

ME:       Hardly likely that you have seen me from the bank and I have no intention of ever meeting             up with you.

 

SUNDAY-

KMB: Well I will conclude by saying that i know u do work at the Bank since as i told yuh b4, i have seen u there b4. Did we have any contact, no we did not, but i would have asked u for some info. that being about 4 to 5 yrs ago.  Anyway, i conclude u have no interest but i guess it is for the best

 

Just when I think I am not responding because the last line was that of goodbye, I re-read the line before and realize that someone is feeding this person some kind of generic info to arrive at such a conclusion.

 

ME:       Ok someone is obviously feeding you info and wrong info at that. 4-5 years ago I did not     even live in Trinidad. I find this discourse disturbing and I am not responding to any other       message sent.

 

KMB:    Wow u r a difficult person. I have no source and u don’t seem 2 believe. I am simply           looking to meet people like me.  My only source or medium is right here, Facebook.    However, i do believe i have seen u in Arima b4. I am a genuine person. I just found u     seem a nice guy and decided 2 try.

 

No response from me. None whatsoever

 

Yes (I know I know) it took me this long to stop responding to the messages.  I like to be “in the know”. I like to know what is going on in my universe and why strangers would try to contact me in disturbing ways.  Normal people would’ve just ignored the message and just moved on but the side of me that watches way too much Monk, CSI, NCIS and House M.D. (I really like this show) wanted to get to the bottom of this matter. Yeah, the idiot in me who fancies himself some kind of sleuth thought he could solve this mystery. The sad part is that I realized it was futile and that stupid me was starting to give out information rather than collect any.

 

In life, you sometimes meet people that for some strange reason or another know personal details about you that send a little shiver down your spine. Let’s face it, you are never capable of remembering everyone you have interacted with nor is it possible for you to know who is talking about you (whether good or bad). You just hope that in the end, good things are said about you or that people don’t shy away from meeting you.

 

There have been numerous times that I have met people that seemed to know a lot about me but it was primarily because we had friends in common. Strangers don’t come up with facts out of thin air. When they do, you know that something is not what it seems.

 

 

MONDAY

While on my way to a 9am meeting, my extension at work rings. It is the creature calling me. As soon as they announced who they were I quickly said. ”OK I’m hanging up now.” And I did.

 

WHAT THE HELL!!! Calling me at my workplace? What is up with that?

 

My first thought was to send them a stink email demanding that I be left alone and then I realized that I would be giving them more personal info on me. So I decided to wait until I got home and then send them a message on Facebook, but I was advised to just ignore them and hopefully they would go away.

 

I have sent nothing and hopefully will not receive any other messages.

 

So here’s to the rest of week being uneventful.

 
4 Comments

Posted by on December 18, 2008 in Uncategorized

 

4 responses to “Somebody’s Watching Me

  1. Matthew

    December 25, 2008 at 17:40

    this could have been your soulmate…you never know…..I would have met up….but that;s just me…

     
  2. Jassodra

    January 8, 2009 at 17:27

    lol what he said 🙂

     
  3. Jeunille

    January 14, 2009 at 22:43

    Run!!! RUN!!!!! I had a few stalkers and i was a stalker (hahahaahahahahahahah) RUN!!

     
  4. Jeunille

    January 14, 2009 at 22:44

    CALL POLICE!!!!

     

Leave a Reply

 
