RSS

This is it

31 Dec

I was trying to find a word to sum up all the events that took place in my life this year and what they represented. A gargantuan task I felt it was at times since it is to place a body of experiences into one word.  Strangely enough, I think I found the word:

 

LIMBO

 

No, not the rhythmic dance which involves people seeing how low they can go, but the state of being where no clear decisions have been made and therefore u are in a type of vortex waiting to see which direction you are pulled to. Yup, 2009 was that for me.

 

Google (hahaha) defines limbo as:

·                                 oblivion: the state of being disregarded or forgotten

·                                 an imaginary place for lost or neglected things

·                                 (theology) in Roman Catholicism, the place of unbaptized but innocent or    righteous souls (such as infants and virtuous individuals)

 

Hey two out of the three definitions relate to me (not that aint bad).  As usual I am never what religion defines me as even though I do think I’m virtuous (ummm control the snickering).

 

I saw people come and go from my life as usual. When some left, it hurt but it was understandable (right Samantha?), others refused to leave no matter how hard I tried. Some even tried to weave their way back into my life and I even tried to mend some broken bridges (well not many because most times I’m right). In the end, the entire mélange of experiences left me feeling…”Blah” (Is that an actual feeling? It’s the only thing that comes to mind)

 

2009 saw my department move from 60 people strong to 6. While I’m one of the six (Thank God for small mercies), one cannot help but remember the fallout, the bad decisions you knew certain senior people were making and the resulting numbness felt by all those around as a result of transfers, separation packages and to a lesser extent, terminations.  Yeah, Christmas didn’t feel the same at my job this year and that is weird since I’m not a “Christmas” person.  Alas people grow on you and in the end you miss the jokes, the clumsy phrases (Sky Fee Movies/, Pedestral) and the attempts by certain staff members to engage you in conversation when they weren’t sure if an insult was going to come their way… Ahh the smell of fear…I miss thee

 

I didn’t get to go on my usual long holiday trip this year so that was a bummer but I did get a 10 day stay at the St. Kitts Marriott. Too bad it was for Securities Exchange training and I spent most of it in my room over a binder full of financial notes and scribblings that I made and then couldn’t decipher later on. Alas I passed the course so let’s see what new adventure comes from this training.

 

As I write this blog, I am realizing how boring my life in recap was and while it is not an excuse to slit ones wrist, it just means I need to make 2010 an amazing year.

 

1.      My BFF (sorry for using term) Matthew got an amazing job in Geneva this year and also moved into one cool apartment with a view. Me? I repaired the broken bed in my second bedroom (don’t ask how it broke).

2.      Jeunille Trancoso-Blackman and Michael Bourne (they don’t know each other) both went back to law school (one in California, the other in the UK). Me? I started Rosetta Stone online language courses and can’t find the password anymore.

3.      A lawyer at the office just bought a really nice house in Orange Grove. Me? I’m still renting over a lady with pompeks that still want to kill me.

4.      A couple people have lost a ton load of weight and some have abs and bodies to die for. Steups!!! Me? I still wear size 38 jeans but I no longer have a second trimester-type stomach, it’s smaller but not gone.

5.      I went to SIX wedding this year (including my mother’s).  Me? My last date was ..ummm well.. not this year, but I have had a few for the decade.

6.      Danielle aka Suzie gave birth to the most beautiful baby girl I’ve seen in a long while. Me? Well I’m one of her godparents and well (gulp) this little lady has my heart.

 

 

 

As I wrote that line I realize that 2009 wasn’t a bad year after all. I took a truck load of photos at the various weddings and events that I attended. I bought 80 CDs this year and surprised myself by listening to a lot of them frequently. Of course in every year you end up buying some duds and you discover some gems. 

 

Here’s my list:

 

TOP TEN ALBUMS for 2009

1.      Alicia Keys – The Element of Freedom: I can’t begin to tell you how much I LOVE this album. The Track” Love is My Disease” is my favorite song by far.

2.      Chrisette Michelle – Epiphany: This would’ve been my number one pick had the previous album not existed. I don’t think there is a bad song on this album whatsoever. Why this album wasn’t nominated for a grammy I will never know. “Another One” is my favorite track on this album

3.      Kina – (Self Titled):. I rediscovered this gem thanks to hearing “Hurt So Bad” on So You Think You Can Dance over the summer. “Girl From the Gutter” , “Hurt So Bad” and “Still Here”

4.      Original Cast Recording – 13 : Ok this is a musical I saw on Broadway in 2008 that didn’t survive the financial crisis. It is a playful CD that reminds me of a simpler time when all u had to worry about was trying to make friends and survive school. “A Little More Homework” is the stand out track.

5.      Kings of Leon – Only by the Night: if someone told me at the beginning of the year that I would be so into this band, I would’ve told them that they were crazy.

6.      Melody Gardot – My One and Only Thrill: Strangely enough, I found out about this artiste from a highly unlikely source. Rich Sultry Voice and some beautiful arrangement. “ Baby I’m a Fool” is the one you need to hear.

7.      Maxwell – BLACKSummer’s night: This CD was bought because of the artiste and from the opening note I was happy with the purchase. “Stop The World” is my favorite on the album

8.      Adam Lambert – For Your Entertainment: I didn’t want to like this CD, but I really do. “Whatya Want From Me” and “Fever” aren’t bad at all

9.      Whitney Houston- I Look To You: All I need to say is that “Million Dollar Bill” saved this CD for me. With an opening song like that, there is no way the album could be sappy

10.  Lady Gage – The Fame : Like Matthew, I really didn’t want to like this album, but she aint half bad

 

HONARABLE MENTION: Kelly Clarkson – All I Ever Wanted: Really good CD And the title track starts off a lil Franz Ferdinand-esque and just kicks ass!!!!

 

FIVE DISAPPOINTING ALBUMS of 2009

  1. Kris Allen –Self Titled: it never got there. Another AI winner that will fade into obscurity even though he was brilliant on the show
  2. Rihanna – Rated R: For Rubbish. Did she really need to curse on this?
  3. Colbie Caillat – Coco: What was I thinking?
  4. Various Artistes –Mamma Mia Soundtrack: What seemed fun and endearing on the screen turned out to be a big ole noisefest on CD.  Why is Pierce Brosnan singing again?
  5. Prince – Lotusflow3r: 3 CDs and I barely can find a few tracks to like.

 

2009 MOVIES

Yes I spent a lot of time in Movietowne this year, I was only happy with a few of the movies I actually saw this year.

  1. 500 Days of Summer: BRILLIANT MOVIE!!!! Who knew the kid from 3rd Rock from the Sun was such an amazing actor!!! This movie rocked for me!!
  2. STAR TREK: Tell me you saw this movie! If not, then GO NOW!!!
  3. Inglorious Basterds: Tarantino makes movie-going just a pleasure.
  4. Twlight Saga: New Moon : HATED IT!!!!  Bella sets women’s rights back a thousand years
  5. Notorious:  Not a bad biopic at all. It just wasn’t self indulgent nonsense
  6. Underworld:Rise of the Lycans: The Best of the trilogy.
  7. Taken: Could Liam Neeson be my daddy and beat up a few ppl for me too?
  8. Wolverine: Good, but something was missing. Can’t put my finger on it.
  9. Drag Me To Hell: Disgustingly Good
  10. District 9: WOW!
  11. I Can Do Bad All By Myself: Nope, Tyler Perry always needs help with it!!!
  12. The Hangover – Laugh Out Loud funny

 

Well, that is it for now.

HAPPY 2010 EVERYBODY

 

See you next year for my resolutions!!!

 
2 Comments

Posted by on December 31, 2009 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “This is it

  1. kieron

    December 31, 2009 at 11:03

    Nice Blog!…. Happy 2010 to you as well!….

     
  2. Matthew

    December 31, 2009 at 16:23

    You had me laughing up in here…..I will have to give the Alicia a closer listen if that is your top CD- it has not moved me yet. I am so aware of your love for 500 days of summer that i want to have the right conditions to watch it in….2010 is your year…plus any time that your department goes from 60 to 6 and you are one of the 6 is a good year. Your BFF Matthew

     

Leave a Reply

 
