RSS

Affirmation

08 Jan

HAPPY NEW YEAR Everyone!!!

 

Let’s see what 2010 holds for us.

 

2009 wasn’t a bad year at all but each new year brings new hope., new dreams, yadda, yadda, yadda,  blah, blah, blah etc and a joy in your soul. (We all know the mumbo jumbo positive crap that is spouted all time so no need to rehash it here.

 

My year started off peaceful and full of hope. I decided not to be too hung up on resolutions as I already know what I need to fix in my life and technically how to do it. Here is a list of some of the resolutions:

 

1.      Be More Creative: 2009 saw me stagnant in terms of creative output especially with regard to singing and acting. I’ve already taken steps to correct that but I need to be more forceful in making sure they are executed in a timely manner

2.      Reduce Procrastination levels: Boy can I put something off!!! For example: In 2008 I cleaned out my closets and filled a large suitcase full of clothing that I would donate to charity. That suitcase is still in the hallway of my apartment in 2010. It never moved. I just kept adding stuff to it and removing stuff that I thought I missed.

3.      Exercise More: I always have this resolution and to some extent I do try but do to the power of procrastination, well things don’t always go well. I am committed to tennis twice a week since last year and hopefully I will find another activity to increase my cardio workout. Plus I have some clothing that I decided not to donate since I would use it when I lost the weight again.(If another year goes by and I still can’t wear then, well hopefully I would take the hint)

4.      Increase Savings Threshold: Between my lovely car (that gave me no trouble for the rest of 2009) and my love of food, I need to cut down on my expenses and concentrate on increasing my savings level. I am blessed to still have a job with these weird economic times and I should try and maximize my savings instead of spending it on Haagen Dazs Sundaes, CDs (not giving that up) and other stupid stuff that when I look around my apartment I realize that I hardly ever use it (No more Swiffers, Swivels, Dust Mops , etc).  I know that I can save more money if I try but sometimes you just want to treat yourself and then it happens that you keep treating yourself every week or month as the case maybe. Plus I need to make a trip to Europe this year. Matthew, how about a couple days in Greece and maybe see the Greek isles like Lesbos and Mykynos?

 

There are a few more resolutions but since I try to keep my blog PG-13, I will keep those to myself thereby not causing anyone to voice their self-righteous indignation at whatever their warped mind thinks I may or may not be doing. Sigh. Life is like that.

 

I gave up a long time ago trying to please everyone in my life as in the end I was making them happy and I was becoming more miserable by the day. What starts off with nice good intentions always turns ugly when people abuse ones good nature. No more of that nonsense will be happening. Well I’m sure some will happen but percentage-wise, it will be in the single digits.

The craziest thing so far to come out of this new year is that someone gave me an affirmation that they think I should say often. Now an affirmation is one of those things, these “New Age” self help gurus are using constantly to help people imagine and claim the positive things in their life. I have partly read enough Self Help books to know that these things never work and it can sometimes lead to serious disappointment.

A lawyer at my office, told me that she thinks that I am a really nice guy and couldn’t understand why I was still single. When I told her that the people you meet initially who seem so well “put together” and bigger messes than she and I can hope for. She then asked me to describe my ideal mate and what I look for in one.  I was able to tell her what I look for in one because I am not one for confining myself to body types. Beautiful people come in all shapes and size, so do ugly people.

 

Then she declared that she had an affirmation for me that would guarantee I have a better outlook on love and relationships for 2010.

 

“I open my mind to have someone who is not possessive, who loves me freely and who I am free to love”

 

“I am deserving of love”.

 

I laughed so hard when she gave it to me as I assumed that she was full of Shhhh…. It just wasn’t what I expected. I placed the affirmation on my Facebook page and WHAM BAM!!;.i get a message telling me that a friend of mine has someone she would like me to meet. Sigh.. I loathe blind dates. Someone always has more information than the next and therefore has time to plan their attack or retreat.  I was hesitant about it but I went along with it.

 

While I shall not reveal what transpired at the event, all I can say is that I tried on like 7shirts before I actually found one that fitted me properly and the service at Tamnak Thai was horrible but the food was GREAT!! The evening was very entertaining and I laughed a lot during it.

 

So after this event, I begin to wonder what new adventures does 2010 hold for me? Is this the start of a new round of  serial dating for me or is it that something magical is gonna happen for me?

 

STAY TUNED………

 
1 Comment

Posted by on January 8, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

One response to “Affirmation

  1. Matthew

    January 24, 2010 at 04:28

    We HAVE to travel somewhere this year…..let\’s coordinate…

     

Leave a Reply

 
