RSS

Crash Into Me

03 Mar

I have been holding off on writing this blog for a while now. The reason lay in the fact that every time I thought about the situation I got really upset and logic kept failing me in my writing process. So 17 days after the incident occurred, I write…….

 

On Sunday, February 14th 2010 around 2am, I returned to my apartment after dropping a few friends off the a Carnival fete (that I just didn’t want to attend). On driving into my street, I noticed that there weree two cars blocking my gateway, preventing me from parking in my garage. After I cursed under my breath, I parked behind these cars and headed upstairs to my apartment for a good night’s sleep.

 

I awoke around 10am and just basically lounged around the house (I had no where to be that day). Around 12 noon, I decided to drive to Joe’s Pizza to get something for lunch. On arriving near my car I notice a BIG dent in the driver’s side door. My head spins. The entire area around me seems to spin as well as I quickly survey to see if any one of the neighbours are outside and have noticed my distress. Nothing.  No one.  I then examined the damage and looked to see if the person that hit me left a note/message etc. Nothing. I cursed out loud.

 

I drive the car into the garage and head back upstairs into my apartment only to resurface on Carnival Tuesday morning as only then had my initial depression and ire over the event somewhat subsided. I was however still ashamed to be driving a car in that state and upset that I would have to fork out money to pay for something I didn’t do as the person that hit my car just left the scene of the crime.

 

My internal daily (hourly actually) prayer to God was for swift justice. And in the tradition of the Color Purple, I envisioned Miss Celie’s finger pointing at Mister and I uttered to the heavens ;

 

“Lord until the driver do right by me, everything they even think bout gonna fail”

 

I wanted justice. I demanded JUSTICE. I just couldn’t understand how someone can walk away from an accident and not feel any remorse. Have we become that type of society? No music at that time could comfort me. I found solace in one song that I palyed constantly during that time. Trick Daddy’s Let’s Go was blasted in my apartment for a 4-day period in the hope that the anger in me would subside.  After a while Ludacris’s “Get Back” provided some relief as well but Trick Daddy, helped to keep the demons at bay.

 

Anyway, on Ash Wednesday, I got a call from my landlady asking me if Mr. Lawrence had given me any money as yet. I was confused. Why would Mr. Lawrence be giving me money? She then informed me that two neighbours had seen Mr. Lawrence hit my car that morning and had left messages on her phone informing her of the incident.  I thanked her for the info and said that I would deal with him later that day. However that was impossible as I was not going to get home until about 10pm that night.

 

WAIT!!! Oh my bad. I left out the most important piece of information:

 

Mr. Lawrence lives across the street from me. DIRECTLY across the street.

 

Yes, folks the bastard that hit my car is my neighbour!!  Not only is he my neighbour but he is one of the few that I actually have conversations with. He is about 65 years old and is a recent widower. Well his wife died about a year and a half ago from cancer. How come I know all this info? Well, would you believe that I used to carry her every Monday and Wednesday morning in late 2007 for chemotherapy?  Yes folks, I did that.  Not for praise or glory but because one evening they both asked me since he was on crutches at the time and couldn’t drive her himself. She couldn’t drive their car herself due to how really  ill she felt after the treatments.

 

Amazing huh?

 

I was stunned. Absolutely stunned. I walked around for hours wondering what I did to him to deserve this type of treatment. I couldn’t figure it out. Then Trick Daddy started to play in the background of my mind……

 

Lets Gooooo! (Lets Gooooo!)

If you want it you can get it let me know (let me know),

I’m bout to f#@& a n^*$a up, Lets Gooooo! (Lets Gooooo!)

If you want it you can get it let me know (let me know),

I’m bout to f#@& a n^*$a up, Lets Gooooo! (Lets Gooooo!)

 

 

On Thursday February 18th (B-Day /Beyonce Day) in Trinidad, I got home early so that I could change for a rehearsal I had at 6pm that afternoon. I walked up to his gate and rang the bell. Only his housekeeper came out and informed me that Mr. Lawrence was sleeping. I left a message for him to contact me. You think he did? Steups…

 

Saturday was the next time I was able to go over and ring his doorbell.

 

RING!!!

De duty bitch comes out with his cane looking all greasy.

——————

“Hi Mr Lawrence. How are you today?”

“Boy I good yes. I was just inside resting a bit.”

“Oh Ok….”

(remain calm Stefan….your blood pressure rising right now)

“So I don’t know if you’ve noticed but my car got hit the other day outside my apartment. I went to the Police and they told me to ask my neighbours if they saw anything as this would help in the report to the insurance company, so my premiums wouldn’t go up. Did you see anything?”

“Boy I can’t lie to you yes. Is I who hit your car”

(You should’ve seen my stunned face. It was magical)

“Huh? “

Boy is I who hit yuh car.

(Tell me you hit my car one…more …time….)

“Boy I was in a hurry for church. As you know I give out communion and I was late that morning and I just back out too far.”

“So how come you didn’t say anything to me?”

“ Well I was waiting for you to come over and talk. When I see a few days pass, I thought you were just not going to bother with it.”

“(Singing hymn in my mind) Oh ok. So how was I to know that you hit me? I didn’t see it and I was under the assumption that someone from the Vale Breakfast Party had done it.”

“ Nah it was me. Boy I sorry dey. But  boy like you people hit my car too and I always had to go repair it myself.”

(Ignoring that comment)

“ So what you want to do about it?”

“ Well all I have is 3rd party insurance, so we could go through insurance.”

“ Well if I give the police this information and then you make a report , you might be charged for leaving the scene of an accident.  Let’s not go down that road.  Here’s what, when my “straightener” takes a look at it, I’ll give you the invoice”

“ Oh ok, maybe we could split the cost half half.  The amount of times I had to repair this car this year boy I……

(At this point the look I gave to him, must’ve told him that if he didn’t change that statement that I would beat him like a snake)

“Anyway just give me the invoice and I will fix you up. Sorry about that eh. I don’t know what happen that day.”

“ I understand. I was just shocked that you didn’t call me or anything after it happened. You know me.”

(Trick Daddy starts drowning out the hymn I was singing in my head):

The AK go chop, chop, chop, chop

The SK go fire, fire, fire, fire

The AK go chop, chop, chop, chop

The SK go fire, fire, fire, fire

 

“Yeah I understand what you mean but boy I so busy these days and when I see you driving it up and down I say everything alright.”

“ Eh heh. Anyway, I’ll be in touch.”

———

I surprised myself at how calm the entire discourse was and proud that it seems as if I am maturing nicely in my old age.

 

My landlady called me immediately when I got back to my apartment. She had witnessed the entire conversation and wanted to the low down or rather she just wanted to talk.

 

Land Lady:

“Boy these catholics not easy. They feel they better than we Anglicans but they worse boy. How he could do yuh dat? Even Ms Taylor across de road remembers all the things u did for them when de wife was sick and now he come and spit on yuh like that.”

 

Me:

“Well it was shocking but..”

 

LL:

“Boy I telling you now, take that car to an expert in body thingy and charge up he mudder ass. Let he pay through he “broko-foot” teeth. Anyway ah gone dey, ah sure is Ms Taylor calling to find out what allyuh talk about.”

(Click)

 

For the next few days, Mr. Lawrence was suddenly present every morning when I was driving out. He gave me the numbers of four guys that do body work but he recommended one guy who said that the job (without seeing the car) would cost about TT$1500.00.  I told him that I would check with my guy and let him know.

 

I did check with my body repair guy and his price was TT$1,000.00. Once I told Mr. Lawrence this, he was ecstatic. He gave me the money on Monday March 1st and I carried the car in right away. I am due to get it back today (Wednesday). I’m not sure of it though but once it is fixed, I will suffer without it for now.

 

Hmm I should’ve made Mr. Lawrence drop me to work every morning for spite.

 

But I can’t do that. I am a nice guy. A man of the people. Mother Theresa has nothing on me!!!

 

I traveled by taxi to work yesterday.  While I did not pull out any hand sanitizer while in the taxi, I did have my Ipod in my ear all the way to work just so that no one would try to talk to me.

 

Hey!! Morning drives to work are usually my quiet times. I can’t adjust that fast!!

 

 
2 Comments

Posted by on March 3, 2010 in Uncategorized

 

2 responses to “Crash Into Me

  1. Trini

    March 4, 2010 at 14:33

    I can\’t believe he suggested that you split the cost of repairs. Mr Lawrence is out of his mind !!!

     
  2. Colin

    March 5, 2010 at 18:03

    Oh gorm, is Uncle Robert bounce yuh car?!?

     

Leave a Reply

 
