RSS

I Choose You

21 Apr

So I started the 30 Day Song Challenge on Facebook and immediately I was stumped by the first challenge.

Day 1: Your Favourite Song

Umm what? Just one favourite? I have like hundreds!

I could go on for hours just trying to decide which artist I love, then decide on a shortlist of songs by them. Then after I’ve narrowed my favourites to like 50 or so songs then I will have to listen to each and see which one moves me the most. This is wrong. It’s like a parent having to chose which child to save when both are drowning. (Ok that is a tad bit over-dramatic but you get my point. I shouldn’t have to choose.)

I felt pressured. I didn’t have the time to invest in such a lengthy exercise and I RESENTED having to choose ONE favourite song. IT IS JUST WRONG! Is this a symptom of my inability to commit to a relationship or even to pick a girlfriend? Does it go this deep within my psychoses that I am unable to make certain choices? Why are things that I have an emotional connection to so hard to decide?

Sigh……(Exhales) Hmmm Shoop Shoop Shoo Be doop? Oh Yeah She is good. That’s not a bad artist.  But Nah..

Still confused and becoming a tad bit emotional , I walk over to one of my CD binders and just began flipping through to see if I could be inspired.

Then I saw her and it was clear. There could be no contest. There would be songs that I would boogie too for years to come, but only “she” made music that fed my teenage and adult soul.

Janet Jackson won without even second guessing myself.

The song came much easier as it is one that brings a smile to my face everytime I hear it.

I love it and I love her. I swear she is singing to me in this song and the video reinforces my belief.

Yes! Yes! Yes! I would drink her bathwater!

I hope you like my choice.

DAY ONE: 30 DAY SONG CHALLENGE – Your Favorite Song

When I Think of You – Janet Jackson

 
Leave a comment

Posted by on April 21, 2011 in Entertainment, Music

 

Tags: , , , , ,

Leave a Reply

 
