RSS

Mortal Kombat

17 Aug

I swear my life must be dullest thing on the planet since this recent incident got my juices stirring.

After spending the entire morning just sleeping and ..sigh… answering emails from the office I ventured out of the apartment in Washington Heights to head to the National Museum to meet my friend and official groupie lol Shannon. I am walking on the main road, Amsterdam Avenue, I think, when all of a sudden I see some women gasping at something in the road. When I look there it is because three guys are beating and kicking up another guy who is on the ground. A friend of his rushes overs to help him but he gets chased away (no courage in that one either).

Now the guys kicking up the other guy weren’t big nor were they black ( shock yes I know but the guy on ground was black and mature) . Any way I apparently stood there staring at the action for a bit unaware that two other guys appeared behind me and started beating the guy who tried to go to the other guy’s rescue. So I moved a few steps from that action and continued watching as if I was in a tennis match. Road, pavement, road pavement,pavement road…it was exhilarating and my heart was racing with all the excitement.

Unknown to me some woman started pulling me and shouting cuidado among otter stuff. If the damn music wasn’t in my ear I may have heard her earlier but she then spoke to me in English and told me “You need to move papi!” She then said that didn’t want to see me get shot if someone pulled out a gun.

Yuh know that didn’t enter my head at all! I just saw them only running around kicking and cuffing (the cuffs were very girly and uncoordinated) and I didn’t think that any one might try to escalate it.

Anyway after she said that I started to walk to the train station but I kept looking back to see if there were any further developments. Most of the guys had gone back to kicking up the black guy in the road who seemed to be having trouble lifting himself up. At first I was a little shocked as i thought given his size he would’ve gotten up and fought them off but I guess they surprised him.

The most disturbing part out of all of this is that kept thinking about pulling out my camera to take pictures.

I know!!

It seems insane but somehow I wanted to be able to show you guys exactly what happened because as much as I know that you trust my stories, there was a need to provide something more than words in this multimedia crazed world. I was itching but something in the back of me knew that being seen documenting would mean that my ass would get kicked up as well.

As much as I think that I remember some stuff from the few kickboxing classes i attended, my first impulse would impulse would be to run away and save myself. I needed to be able to return to the apartment I was staying at without the fear of being assaulted by people who probably spoke Spanish and would think me a dominicano traitor. Imagine if I did do it. I wouldn’t have been able to get clothing for my trip to Minneapolis tomorrow to see Janet Jackson on Friday……(and that not happening! My date with destiny is too long in coming).

So i hope this account of the events is enough for you. When i decide to become war correspondent for some media house i will make sure you get the photographic evidence. So for now..i’m sorry

 
1 Comment

Posted by on August 17, 2011 in Uncategorized

 

Tags: , ,

One response to “Mortal Kombat

  1. Mandy Bennett

    August 18, 2011 at 10:11

    HAHAHAHAHAHAHAHA @ “being seen documenting would mean that my ass would get kicked up as well.

    As much as I think that I remember some stuff from the few kickboxing classes i attended, my first impulse would impulse would be to run away and save myself.”

    CLASSIC !
    Mandy Bennett
    http://mandyjbennett.blogspot.com

     

Leave a Reply

 
