RSS

Best of Me (Movie + Music Lists)

29 Dec

Here are a couple of my year end listings on 2011 and what it was like in my universe!

That is…The degree to which I either smiled internally or sighed deeply (with rolling of eyes simultaneously) out of frustration.

YEAR IN MUSIC

This year I purchased 50 CDs as opposed to the 88 last year. I barely had time to listen to music this year but it is getting harder to find good music you can sink your teeth into and make an actual connection with. I found myself liking songs more than albums and couldn’t understand the lack of good music that was characteristic of this year. A lot of new names and old faces make my for this year but out of the lot, here are the few worth mentioning

Songs That Hooked Me!

  • Pumped Up Kicks – Foster the People (how could you not like it!!)
  • Blow – Ke$ha (Yes, I am ashamed)
  • Heaven – O.A.R.
  • Nothing – The Script
  • Rumor Has It – Adele
  • Skyscraper – Demi Lovato
  • Raise Your Glass – Pink & The Warblers version
  • F**king Perfect – Pink
  • Super Bass – Nicki Minaj

Songs That Rode my Second to last NERVE!!

  • Cheers (Drink To That)- Rihanna ( UGH!!!)
  • Born This Way – Lady Gaga (Yuh mean Oh Geed!!)
  • Jason Derulo/Taio Cruz (which ever one they pretending to be right now)
  • Motivation – Kelly Rowland (the video did not save it)
  • Friday – Rebecca Black (Need i say more?)

Favourite Albums -2011

Adele “21” – If this wasn’t on the list I need to be shot!!

Sara Bareilles “ Kaleidoscope” – I bought it last year but listened to it non-stop this year. Sweet catchy album!!

Original Broadway Cast “The Book of Mormon” – Those South Park guys hit a home run with this soundtrack!! Every song is infectious.

Demi Lovato “Unbroken” – Was expecting fluff but found an album that is not half bad to listen to and Skyscraper just seals it for me

Glee: The Music presents The Warblers – After being bored by hearing Lea Michelle belt every number on the other CDs, Darren Criss’ voice on this one is a breath of fresh air.

Katy Perry “Teenage Dreams” – She needs to thanks somebody for such an unexpectedly good album. This could not be all her work.

Pitbull “Planet Pit” –  This is really catchy and well produced.

WORST ALBUMS

Jill Scott “ The Light of the Sun” – Looks like it went out. Apart from Hear my Call and So in Love, I had no connection with this album whatsoever and the latter song was a stretch at best. It hurt deeply

Beyonce “4” – Just for starting the album with 1+1 she deserves to be here.  Love on Top is a good apple in a barrel of rubbish.

Kelly Clarkson “Stronger” – I don’t know what this album is but somehow her widely panned album “My December” seems like Grammy Award winning material over this pile of something she put together here.

Joss Stone “LP1”Karma is a sweet track but her voice sounds the same raspy shouter Baptist way on every song. She is wasting her instrument and needs a new producer to give her more depth.

MOVIES

Please note that there are a lot of movies this year that I haven’t seen but out of the ones I did see here is my quick review:

THE WOW

THE GOOD

THE So So

The Help I Am Number 4 The Mechanic
Sherlock Holmes Adjustment Bureau Sanctum
Warrior Limitless Unknown
Rise of the Planet of The Apes Wimpy Kid 2 Paul
Drive Hanna Hangover 2
Rio Super 8
Fast Five CaptainAmerica
Thor Cowboys & Aliens
Bridesmaids Final Destination 5
X-Men First Class Fright Night
Transformers 3 Colombiana
Horrible Bosses The Thing
Harry Potter 6 -Part 2 Puss-In Boots
Friends With Benefits Tower Heist
Real Steel Breaking Dawn
Muppets Happy Feet 2
Mission Impossible 4  The Expendables
In Time

Then the Rest

THE BAD

STEUPS!!

Sucker Punch Season of The Witch
Scream 4 Beastly
Green Hornet Red Riding Hood
The Eagle The Smurfs
Arthur Immortals
Priest Big Momma – Like Father Like Son
Pirates of The Caribbean 4 Tyler Perry- Big Happy Family
Green Lantern Conan
Bad Teacher  Your Highness
Abduction
The Adventures of Tin Tin
Arthur Christmas
 
1 Comment

Posted by on December 29, 2011 in Entertainment, Movies, Music, Uncategorized

 

Tags: , , ,

One response to “Best of Me (Movie + Music Lists)

  1. Mandy Bennett

    January 3, 2012 at 15:13

    Pumped Up Kicks – Foster the People (no idea who this is)
    Blow – Ke$ha (dont be ashamed, I like Kesha too…ok maybe I should not have admitted that!)
    Heaven – O.A.R. (clueless)
    Nothing – The Script (again clueless)
    Rumor Has It – Adele ( a no-brainer)
    Skyscraper – Demi Lovato (Luv Demi)

    Songs That Rode my Second to last NERVE!!
    Cheers (Drink To That)- Rihanna (completely disagree! This was my wkend starter/fistpumper!) lol
    Born This Way – Lady Gaga (Yuh mean Oh Geed!!) – AGREED! Lady Gaga is Illuminati Central and I have jumped off the bandwagon.
    Jason Derulo/Taio Cruz (which ever one they pretending to be right now) – I always get them confused lol
    Motivation – Kelly Rowland (the video did not save it) – LUV this song! I wine HARD in my car to this one!
    Friday – Rebecca Black (Need i say more?) – WHO?

    Favourite Albums -2011
    Adele “21” – If this wasn’t on the list I need to be shot!! – 100% – she’s cleaning up at Grammys – my prediction
    Sara Bareilles “ Kaleidoscope” – don’t have this.
    Original Broadway Cast “The Book of Mormon” (-__-)

    Glee: The Music presents The Warblers – After being bored by hearing Lea Michelle belt every number on the other CDs, Darren Criss’ voice on this one is a breath of fresh air. *LMAO!!! can’t stand Glee!

    Katy Perry “Teenage Dreams” – She needs to thanks somebody for such an unexpectedly good album. This could not be all her work. *LMAO!

    Pitbull “Planet Pit” – This is really catchy and well produced. *LUV HIM!

    WORST ALBUMS
    Jill Scott“ The Light of the Sun” – really? this is on my to-get list :/
    Beyonce “4” – Just for starting the album with 1+1 she deserves to be here. Love on Top is a good apple in a barrel of rubbish. *LMAO! Agreed on 1+1

    Kelly Clarkson “Stronger” – I don’t know what this album is but somehow her widely panned album “My December” seems like Grammy Award winning material over this pile of something she put together here. * I think since she strayed from Clive Davis she fell off the chart…heard her perform “Stronger” live though and it’s catchy

    Joss Stone “LP1” – Karma is a sweet track but her voice sounds the same raspy shouter Baptist way on every song. She is wasting her instrument and needs a new producer to give her more depth. *YA KILLN ME!! lol

    MOVIES

    Please note that there are a lot of movies this year that I haven’t seen but out of the ones I did see here is my quick review:

    THE WOW
    THE GOOD
    THE So So

    The Help I Am Number 4 The Mechanic (anything with Jason Statham and I am there!!)
    Sherlock Holmes Adjustment Bureau Sanctum (didn’t think AB was good )
    Warrior Limitless Unknown (saw Limitless – thought it was drawn out hogwash)
    Rise of the Planet of The Apes Wimpy Kid 2 Paul (All great except Paul – haven’t seen yet)
    Rio and Thor both good!
    X-Men First Class really good!
    Transformers 3 Colombiana – GREAT!
    Real Steel Mission Impossible 4 The Expendables – all really good!

    THE BAD
    STEUPS!!
    I agree with all the steups except I’m a Tyler Perry fan!

     

Leave a Reply

 
