RSS

Uncharted!!

31 Jan

Over the past month I gave myself a challenge. No it wasn’t a resolution.

I challenged myself to take a picture a day for the entire month of January. I know know people do the whole 365 day photo thing  but I gave myself this task as deep within the recesses of my weird mind, I knew I would not take the easy road.

I told a co-worker about my challenge and he scoffed at me and said: “That’s not a real challenge!”

“You will end up taking a picture of the museum, the zoo, a couple buildings, a sunset etc and then you are done. Do it for the year man!!”

I told him that the Challenge was that I could not go outside of my regular routine of each day and that certain buildings were off-limits lest other photographers I am friends with think that I am copying them.

He looked at me as if I was insane!

You need a wife and a child to occupy your time.”. He replied and went back to what he was doing.

I ignored it but I was happy with my choice of challenges and i knew it would bring me no end of joy!

Armed with my 3 cameras (at least two were in my car at any point in time):

  • Nikon D90 DSLR
  • Panasonic Lumix DMC FZ18 (large point and shoot)
  • Olympus Stylus 1010 (small point & shoot)

I began my journey that I knew would be fun and exciting!!

WRONG!!!

There were some nights that I got home from work late and when I laid down to stare at the TV to relax, it popped in my head

SHIT!! You ain’t take a pic for the day!

Yup and then the rush starts and I end up either cheating by driving out of my way to take a pic of a pan rack (Day 21) or guy playing a pan (Day 26).  I didn’t feel guilty at the time because my life is really boring and there is no way in any normal circumstance would i ever enter a panyard. I am not that “bourgie”,”earthy” or “stush” (whatever the word is).

Then there were times when i stood in my porch and just snapped like a crazy person hoping that something stuck (Days 4, 11, 16 and 19). Yup folks, if you look below, you will see Day 11’s photo, a freaking light bulb. I just couldn’t find anything to photograph and I was really tired.

Day 11

Then there were the times that I took tons of pics and I find my picture of the day in the weirdest place and all those pics seem to be wasted.

On Day 7 (Jan 7th) , I spent 30 minutes on the Foreshore taking pictures of the sun setting and nothing was moving me or feeling like “The PIC”. Then I see some crazy looking lady walking to the back of me and I snap a few of her and VOILA!!, i had my pic. Too bad the 55 pics of the various stages of the sunset will never see the light of day.

It has been fun and I learnt a lot about me, my likes, dislikes, my inability to make a decision over a picture and my slow but growing love for using photoshop and not feeling guilty for slight photo tweaks. I also love the idea of using a watermark/logo with my pics. It took me a while to decide on one and i got a graphic artist to bring my idea to life and I am proud of it.

So folks I present to you my 31 days of photos. Some will suck some will be sweet. Some I wish I had greater skills to make them better but the strange thing is… I love them all..

Day 31 was a shameful display of laziness. I was heading home and walked into the Supermarket to buy some bread and i took my Panasonic Lumix in there and just started snapping people without them noticing. Sometimes you get a coo shot and sometimes you just go…..

“Dear Lord, thank you for the job I have, cuz  I suck at this one.”

I stored the pictures in two locations: Flickr and my MSN SkyDrive

Tell me your thoughts,,,

 
3 Comments

Posted by on January 31, 2012 in Entertainment, Photography

 

Tags: , , , ,

3 responses to “Uncharted!!

  1. offdadome

    February 2, 2012 at 03:48

    congrats, I enjoyed all of them……made me nostalgic…favs are Kes, relaxing, sales, 5:24pm, and blackbird.

     
  2. Nolon Laurence

    February 2, 2012 at 19:19

    I think it was a great challenge, I loved the results, especially 5:24pm (where is that?), King of the Road, Dah Moon and Drops. I’m tempted to do something similar with my lil Olympus point-and-shoot.

     
    • Stefan

      February 3, 2012 at 09:41

      5:24pm – 5th Floor POSGH
      King of The Road – Near HyAtt
      Dah Moon – From St CLair Tennis Courts
      Drops – My car windshield

      Some of those pics (Particularly 5:24pm) came from my Olympus Stylus point and shoot as well…

       

Leave a Reply

 
